Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeEntertainmentProducer Element, DJ Pius nominated for HiPipo Awards 2023

Producer Element, DJ Pius nominated for HiPipo Awards 2023

Two Rwandan artistes Element Eleéeh, real name Fred Robinson Mugisha and renowned DJ and singer Pius Rickie Rukabuza mostly known as DJ Pius have been nominated for the HiPipo Music Awards 2023.

They are the only Rwandan artistes nominated for this year’s awards. Element’s megahit single titled ‘Fou de Toi’ featuring Rwandan superstar Bruce Melodie and Ross Kana and ‘Bonane’ by DJ Pius featuring Alyn Sano and Bushali have been shortlisted for the 12th HiPipo Awards in Uganda.

The two songs from Rwanda are competing in the ‘East Africa Super Hit’ category, where they contend with other popular songs, including ‘Inauma’ by Bien, ‘Puuh’ by Billnass and Jay Melody, ‘Yatapita’ by Diamond Platnumz, ‘Mafia Remix’ by Fik Fameica, Cassper, Navio, and Khaligraph Jones.

‘Fou de Toi’ also competes in the ‘East Africa Super Video’ category, where it faces off against ‘Nani remix by Zucu Ft. Innos B, ‘Kika Buka’ by Sheebah, ‘Huyu Hapa’ by Mbosso, ‘Good to me’ by Nyanshski, ‘Problem’ by A’shaan, ‘Achii’ by Diamond and Koffi Olomide, ‘Long to be home’ by Eddy Kenzo, and ‘Single Again’ by Harmonize and many more.

Additionally, ‘Single Again’ by Harmonize, ‘Nana Remix’ by Joshua Baraka, Joeboy, King Promise, and Bien, ‘Enjoy’ by Diamond and Jux, ‘Minimal Pressure’ by Khaligraph Jones, ‘Lambambo’ by Natacha, ‘Yolo’ by Sheebah, and ‘Wakadini’ by Sikutambui have been nominated too.

In October 2022, the organisers of these awards began highlighting the competing artistes and songs based on their message, dance, and style, which people have enjoyed since their release and the anticipated grand finale is scheduled for Friday, November 17, in Kampala.

In 2022, Bruce Melodie and Knowless Butera were nominated for the HiPipo Music Awards, while DJ Pius and The Ben were nominated in 2020.

Similarly, in 2018, Bruce Melodie scooped the East Africa Best Breakthrough Artist award competing against artistes like Ben Pol, Darassa, Lydia Jazmine, Meddy, Nyashinski, The Ben, and Ykee Benda.

During the same year, The Ben and Sheebah’s collaboration, ‘Binkolera’, was honored with the Best East African Collabo award.

Other award winners included Knowless, who won the ‘Best Video Artist’ award for her single ‘Uzagaruke’, alongside nominees like renowned duo Charly & Nina’s ‘Zahabu’, ‘Ntawagusimbura’ by Meddy and ‘Habibi’ by The Ben.

Meddy’s ‘Slowly’ also became the ‘Song of the Year’ in the category of Rwandan artistes during this period.

In 2017, Charly & Nina won the ‘Song of the Year: Rwanda’ category with their megahit ‘Indoro,’ featuring Big Fizzo from Burundi.

About HiPipo Music Awards

It is an annual music awards event that recognises and celebrates outstanding achievements in the music industry, specifically focusing on East African artistes and their contributions to the regional music scene.

The awards highlight excellence in various music categories, honoring artistes, songs, and collaborations that have made a significant impact in the East African music landscape.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments