Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeSport NewsPremier League fixtures today - your guide to Boxing Day games

Premier League fixtures today – your guide to Boxing Day games

Boxing Day football will take over household living rooms up and down the United Kingdom as wrapping paper is cleared up, mulled wine is drunk and leftover roasts are devoured.

It’s a feast for the eyes in the Premier League, with five games taking place on Tuesday with ramifications at both ends of England’s top flight. Newcastle are in desperate need of a result when they host Nottingham Forest in the day’s early kick-off, while Liverpool and Manchester United will also grace our TV screens in the evening.

Newcastle vs Nottingham Forest

Tino Livramento, Anthony Gordon
Newcastle desperately need a result against Forest / Alex Pantling/GettyImages
  • Location: Newcastle, England
  • Stadium: St James’ Park
  • Date: Tuesday 26 December
  • Kick-off Time: 12:30 GMT / 07:30 ET / 04:30 PT
  • Referee: Chris Kavanagh
  • VAR: Jarred Gillett

Newcastle can ill-afford another poor result when they host Nottingham Forest at St, James’ Park in the early kick-off.

The Magpies have lost five of their last six matches in all competitions, seeing them exit the Champions League and Carabao Cup in recent weeks. Their latest defeat came on Saturday at Luton Town, leaving them seven points off the top four.

Forest felt aggrieved in their 3-2 defeat to Bournemouth following Willy Boly’s questionable red card, with Nuno Espirito’s side now just two points above the relegation zone.


Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

Amazon Prime Video

United States

USA Network, nbcsports.com, NBC Sports App

Canada

fuboTV Canada


Bournemouth vs Fulham

Nottingham Forest v AFC Bournemouth - Premier League
Solanke was Bournemouth’s hero against Forest / MB Media/GettyImages
  • Location: Bournemouth, England
  • Stadium: Vitality Stadium
  • Date: Tuesday 26 December
  • Kick-off Time: 15:00 GMT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT
  • Referee: Tim Robinson
  • VAR: Michael Oliver

Andoni Iraola’s future at Bournemouth was in serious doubt after a tough start, but the Cherries are now the Premier League’s form team with five wins from six games.

They were indebted to Dominic Solanke’s hat-trick to give them all three points at Forest, moving Bournemouth ten points clear of the relegation zone. They face Fulham at the Vitality Stadium at an opportune time.

The Cottagers have been dealt back-to-back reality checks in defeats to Newcastle and Burnley, having won their previous two league matches by 5-0 scorelines.


Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

Amazon Prime Video

United States

USA Network, nbcsports.com, NBC Sports App

Canada

fuboTV Canada


Sheffield United vs Luton Town

Andros Townsend
Luton grabbed a huge win over Newcastle / Richard Heathcote/GettyImages
  • Location: Sheffield, England
  • Stadium: Bramall Lane
  • Date: Tuesday 26 December
  • Kick-off Time: 15:00 GMT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT
  • Referee: Sam Allison
  • VAR: Michael Salisbury

This meeting at Bramall Lane sees two sides written off as certain relegation candidates at the start of the season meet when Sheffield United host Luton Town.

The Blades have taken four points from their three games under returning boss Chris Wilder but a five-point chasm remains between them and 17th-placed Forest.

Luton are three points better off than their fellow strugglers and their win over Newcastle showed there is plenty of fight in this Hatters side.


Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

Amazon Prime Video

United States

Peacock

Canada

fuboTV Canada


Burnley vs Liverpool

TOPSHOT-FBL-ENG-PR-LIVERPOOL-ARSENAL
Salah equalised for Liverpool in the draw with Arsenal / PAUL ELLIS/GettyImages
  • Location: Burnley, England
  • Stadium: Turf Moor
  • Date: Tuesday 26 November
  • Kick-off Time: 17:30 GMT / 12:30 ET / 09:30 PT
  • Referee: Paul Tierney
  • VAR: Simon Hooper

Liverpool played their part in an entertaining 1-1 draw with Arsenal, with a winner avoiding the two title contenders as the Gunners took top spot at Christmas.

The Reds can go back above Mikel Arteta’s side with a positive result at Burnley, who managed their third league win this season with an away triumph at Fulham.

The Clarets are still down in 19th, however, and have won just one of their last six meetings with Liverpool.


Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

Amazon Prime Video

United States

UNIVERSO NOW, nbcsports.com, NBC Sports App, UNIVERSO, USA Network, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

Canada

fuboTV Canada


Manchester United vs Aston Villa

Marcus Rashford
Man Utd suffered more disappointment against West Ham / Julian Finney/GettyImages
  • Location: Manchester, England
  • Stadium: Old Trafford
  • Date: Tuesday 26 November
  • Kick-off Time: 20:00 GMT / 15:00 ET / 12:00
  • Referee: Craig Pawson
  • VAR: Stuart Attwell

The setbacks just keep on arriving for Manchester United, the latest coming at West Ham as they spurned good chances in the first half and let in two goals in quick succession later on.

This clash against a buoyant Aston Villa looks to have come at a bad time for the Red Devils, with the Villans looking to maintain their charge for a top-four spot.

Unai Emery’s side have managed away wins at Chelsea, Tottenham and Brentford in recent months but aren’t as strong on their travels as they have been at Villa Park over the last year or so.


Country

TV channel/live stream

United Kingdom

Amazon Prime Video

United States

nbcsports.com, NBC Sports App, USA Network

Canada

fuboTV Canada

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments